Monster inc pin help (maybe fake?)

Discussion in 'Pin Comparison' started by MonsterPeg, May 20, 2019.

1. MonsterPeg

MonsterPeg New Member

0   0   0

Hi guys :) waves happily,

I’m new to the hobby and my husband bought me some monster inc pins off eBay (he had no idea there were fakes and were just trying to spoil/support me). I’m wondering if they are the real deal.

Maybe some of you have verified authentic ones I can compare them too? Or I can post pictures of mine here and you can give me your thoughts.

It’s theses 4 -
    pin #97418 disney pin trading night 2013 Mike spinner,
    pin #95996 disney pin trading night 2013 Sully Spinner,
    pin #96268 Monsters university opening day,
    & a Hong Kong Disney’s pin trading night 2018 glow in the dark monster university big cast pin :)

Thank you for any guidance - I so appreciate it

2. akarih

akarih Resident "Young Person"

Rating - 100%
    6   0   0

Hello! Welcome! Yes definitely post photos of the pins, front and back and we may be able to tell. Welcome to DPF!

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

3. OpieDoodle

OpieDoodle Member

0   0   0

If you post a photo we can take a look. There are a few things you can look for in fakes, some more obvious than others.

Big sign is the back of the pin if the pattern doesn't go all the way to the edge, there are some exceptions to this but that's usually a big sign. The other big giveaway is if there are big dips in the paint. Most authentic pins the color is flat so you won't feel like ridges for the edges if that makes sense.

I've bought on ebay in the past and sometimes I've done fine other times I've gotten fakes. Usually the fakes I went back into reviews after (should have checked before right? Yay me for forgetting) and see negative reviews for fake pins.

4. starry_solo

starry_solo Judge of the Dark Court Staff Member DPF Super Moderator

Rating - 100%
    527   0   0