Newly addicted

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by MonsterPeg, May 20, 2019.

1. MonsterPeg

MonsterPeg New Member

0   0   0

Hello all - waves I’m new to the pin collecting hobby and am equal parts excited and overwhelmed (because of all the fakes and forgeries out there). My favorite character to collect is monster inc, hence my name - pokes it. Who do you like to collect? And how do you handle finding new pins but not buying fakes? Thanks in advance for the warm welcome

2. Shelterkat

Shelterkat A Very Merry Unbirthday!

Rating - 100%
    398   0   0

Welcome:lgm:

MonsterPeg likes this.
  3. slbrabham

slbrabham Well-Known Member

Rating - 100%
    64   0   0

Welcome. This hobby is definitely addictive and challenging at times. However, it can be extremely rewarding and fun.

Tips for getting new pins.
    1.) Set a budget and stick to it.
    2.) Don't spend "stupid crazy" money on pins.
    3.) Read the posts about spotting fakes and other informative posts here (and other places) to learn more. It may make you feel better if you know which pins have been faked.
    4.) Have fun searching for pins that make you smile.

My favorite pins to collect (right now) are Princess and the Frog pins.

Who is your favorite in Monsters?

MonsterPeg and krand1276 like this.
  4. Ajk

Ajk Part of the family.

Rating - 100%
    77   0   0

Welcome to the Forum and collecting! :lgm:

MonsterPeg likes this.
  5. OpieDoodle

OpieDoodle Member

0   0   0

Hello!

This hobby is fun, stressful, and sometimes expensive but totally worth it. Personally, I collect Stitch but I've also started collecting Coco pins as well. Then my dad collects Donald so I'm often also looking for Donald pins as well. I will tell you I learned about fakes the hard way. I bought a bunch of real booster packs and went to the parks and just went crazy trading. I traded probably 40 authentic pins and came home with roughly 10 authentic and the rest fake. Very expensive lesson to learn.