• Guest, Help The DPF Community Thrive - Join Our Donation Drive Today!

We're launching a special DPF Donation Drive to ensure our beloved forum continues to flourish. Your support is vital in helping us cover essential server costs and keep our community running smoothly — This is more than just a donation; it's an investment in the future of our community.

Join us in this crucial drive and let's ensure our forum remains a vibrant and dynamic place for everyone.

Please visit the DPF Donation Drive Thread for details and instructions on how you can make your donation today!

Trying to get my eye in detecting fakes/scrappers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Trying to get my eye in detecting fakes/scrappers

Fishyfins

New DPF Member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there :)

So, i am new to this whole pin trading lark after being dragged into it by several friends (and girlfriend) on a recent holiday to Florida. I bought quite a few pins whilst i was there (genuine ones from DW stores), but also did a few trades in the parks. I am now trying to get my eye in to detect fakes and scrappers, and have turned my eye suspiciously to the pins i got in trades, as i now know cast lanyards can be rife with the fakes. Here are the 3 i got. The butterfly pin is the only one i got from a cast lanyard. The dwarf was from a random young boy who wanted to trade with me, and the Rufus pin was from one of my friends, though i suspect he got it from a cast lanyard. Anyway, here they are...

2WurpQ.jpg

mGMUM0.jpg

The Happy pin (#99888) seems to have the correct colours, and everything looks good with it. There are no counterfeit warnings on Pinpics (though i know that isnt always perfect), so my gut says it is genuine.